PDA

View Full Version : DR250 clutch replacement

paddy
3rd December 2009, 21:42
Hey guys - I've been learning the hard way by taking things apart and fixing them. So far I've completely stripped my front caliper, stripped the master cylinder, replaced the brake rotors, both sprockets, the chain, fitted a braided line etc.

I mention all of that because before I did that, I really didn't know anything at all. I am noticing that it's definitely time to replace my clutch friction plates. So here comes the question - should I attempt this myself. I know it requires me to split the case which I've never done before.

Anyone done this with a DR? Are there any gotchas? Do I need any special tools? Are there gaskets I will need to replace?

Out of curiosity, anyone know what the clutch plates are worth if I buy them and what a shop would charge to just do it?

Thanks.

P.

ZK-Awesome
3rd December 2009, 21:48
It cost me $250 for parts and labour to do the clutch plates on my GB250 at Nelson Suzuki.

Conquiztador
4th December 2009, 00:41
From memory:

- Bike on to l/h side (so no oil will escape)
- Kick start off
- r/h motor side cover off.
- clutch springs screws out and off
- plates and fibre ones out.
- all back in reverse order.
- if you ripped gasket when taking apart you might need a new gasket. But a good gasket glue will do to patch up.

Plates should be approx $15 each new. You probably need 5 or six.

First check that there is some slack in the clutch cable. And that the clutch is adjusted so it does not sit on a fraction.

BUT: I have found on s/h dirtbikes that wrong oil has been used that makes the clutch slip: DO NOT USE CAR OIL!!. Use bike 4 stroke oil that is made for wet clutch. If you are planning to change oil anyhow (approx 2 litres should do, $26 from Super Cheep), then try that first. Get motor warm, empty oil and replace. Take for a ride and approx 10 min of riding will tell you if they are ok or need replacing.

Good luck.

paddy