PDA

View Full Version : ZXR 250 cam chain

Tomc
9th December 2009, 20:46
Hi. im new to the forum. Just brought a 93 zxr 250. makes a rattling noise at idle that dissapears over about 4 thou rpm. a mate of mine thinks its the cam chain or tensioner. How do i tell if its the cam chain or if its the tensioner or if its both? How much $$ am i looking at in parts? Who is best to get kawasaki parts from in the welligton area? are any special tools required to do the chain or tensioner and how hard is the job? im not a mechanic but im fairly mechanically minded and have done a fair bit of work on cars. sorry for all the questions all at once.

Cheers

gammaguy
9th December 2009, 20:55
Hi. im new to the forum. Just brought a 93 zxr 250. makes a rattling noise at idle that dissapears over about 4 thou rpm. a mate of mine thinks its the cam chain or tensioner. How do i tell if its the cam chain or if its the tensioner or if its both? How much $$ am i looking at in parts? Who is best to get kawasaki parts from in the welligton area? are any special tools required to do the chain or tensioner and how hard is the job? im not a mechanic but im fairly mechanically minded and have done a fair bit of work on cars. sorry for all the questions all at once.

Cheers

very likely to be the chain,caused by a faulty tensioner,very common on those models.

Unless you really know what you are doing,take it ti a professional.Valves hitting pistons can really spoil your day:nono:

wbks
9th December 2009, 21:58
very likely to be the chain,caused by a faulty tensioner,very common on those models.