PDA

View Full Version : Seized cylinder?

wanpo
3rd January 2010, 15:55
Hi,
I'm a newbie biker, just come across my first big issue with my bike. My bike's was due for its 4000k service about 700km back, and engine oil (as I just found out, AFTER my problem) is dangerously low.
Coming back along the motorway, I started hearing a strange noise, kinda sounded like a baseball card in the spokes of a bicycle (ahh nostalgic) and as I slowed down coming off, the bike kinds started to sound like a cross between a lawnmower/jetski.
I'm gonna grab some engine oil for it soon, fill it up and check what it sounds like tomorrow, of which I'll post in here. But any ideas as to what may have gone wrong (and how much it'll cost to fix >.<) will help steel my heart for the trip to the mechanic.
The bike's a Hyosung GT250R, and before I get "blah blah, Hyobag" responses, this one is probably my fault.
Thanks in advance,
Robbie

marsheng
4th January 2010, 00:03
If there was still some oil showing on the dipstick, it would probably be some other problem. If not it is probably time to look at buying a new bike.

Buying cheap is always expensive, because you have to buy twice when the first one doesn't work.

Cheers Wallace

CookMySock
4th January 2010, 08:22
Don't start it and don't ride it. There's something badly wrong.

Let a mechanic start it and have a listen. If you try and ride it you will grenade the whole engine and then its not worth anything.

Steve

Katman
4th January 2010, 09:59
Get someone to check your cam chain tensioners.

FZRSuper
6th January 2010, 21:49
Did the rear wheel momentarily lock up at any time? Did the bike feel like it was losing power? What you describe sounds exactly what my engine sounded like when it did a big-end bearing. Pray it ain't that... Definitely don't start it again until it's been checked by a mechanic.

hayd3n
6th January 2010, 21:55
how long is the warrenty for??????????
you dont have to be the original owner