PDA

View Full Version : 1990 ZXR250 low compression on 2 cylinders. Head gasket? Valves? What?

ZXCharlieR
8th June 2011, 00:45
Hi Guys,

Here I am again, just the end of the first day and asking for some help, sorry!!

I will explain the scenario:

I bought this great little bike with the problem, so no point in me complaining.

The problem is that she wont start off a cold start, I did a compression test and the results are Cylinders 1 & 3 No Compression, Cylinders 4&5 Were fine, this is the "detailed" description I got from the previous owner:

"Number 1 and 3 had no compression so I squirted a drop of oil in each cylinder and got 50 psi where as 1 and 4 had 150 psi straight away. when the engine was warm it would start fine but the next day when cold it wouldn't go."

Hope that's "enough" information as it's all I got, just need some help in what I am supposed to look at, I am not a mechanic and I am certainly not likely to pay a mechanic at £65 the hour to tell me the same as this guy has.

Anywho ... I will do a full leak test when I have the time but any ideas would be great as I don't want to have to strip it and then realize, after spending 100's, that it was just something trivial, like, er, rings.

I have an idea that it could be rings or valves, please give me some insight as to what to look for and I'll post progress, even a video if it all goes as to plan.

Another quick question, is the manual on ZXR250 Riders Facebook page the same for the 1990 model?, it says it's for the 1997 model.

Thanks to everyone in advance!!

Charlie

ducatilover
8th June 2011, 01:09
Valves, rings, headgasket or holed piston/block.

There are your options :yes:

ZXCharlieR
8th June 2011, 02:27
Thanks for that!!

Does anyone know if the 250C model block and head would fit the B model as I have seen one on ebay and the parts for the top end C model seem to be easier to come by.

Thanks again!

ducatilover
8th June 2011, 11:00
Thanks for that!!