PDA

View Full Version : Engine trouble?? R-1 Help wanted

lewises
29th March 2006, 19:46
Hi all!

99 R1 w Full arrow system

Riding my bike to work the other day and as I got closer to arriving I noticed that the bike was only dropping back to about 2000rpm at idle.

On the way home the bike started surging at idle but pulling ok under load.

I am no mechanic so all sorts of dark imaginings start running thru my head.

Bike is reasonably high K's @74000 and is noisy enough to warrant a cam chain soon. Wondering if there are any thoughts as to the idle/surge?

I start to worry about things like rings,timing,valves etc.

HEEEEELLLLLLPPP!!!

Sensei
29th March 2006, 20:07
May pay to check the Throttle postion sensor , my Triumph did this abit till I had it reset then all was good .

saul
29th March 2006, 20:58
Yep basics first, carbs etc:2thumbsup

Bleck K6
29th March 2006, 20:59
May pay to check the Throttle postion sensor , my Triumph did this abit till I had it reset then all was good .
I thought only injected bikes had TPS?

Anyway, sounds like a airleak or carb problem?Doesnt sound like anything to major.

WINJA
29th March 2006, 21:31
May pay to check the Throttle postion sensor , my Triumph did this abit till I had it reset then all was good .I THOUGHT THAT R1 WAS CARBURATED AND THE TPS IF FITTED WAS JUSTFOR THE PROPORTIONAL SPARK SYSTEM

Crazy Steve
29th March 2006, 21:41
When...you.._onna...race...me..

Or..are...you..still..hidin_...in...the...shitter. ..wit...Frankie...

Crazy...Steve..:motu:

Sensei
29th March 2006, 21:44
I thought they still had TPS on the Carby models may be wrong could explain why they are so Gutless ??

WINJA
29th March 2006, 22:06
I thought they still had TPS on the Carby models may be wrong could explain why they are so Gutless ??
THE LATER ONES HAD A HALF ARSED INJECTION SYSTEM WITH A CV CARB TYPE SLIDE , AND FUCK THEY WERE GUTLESS , I BORROWED AN 03 R1 FOR THE DAY AND AT FIRST I THOUGHT THEY GAVE ME THE R6 BY ACCIDENT.