PDA

View Full Version : WTF Curses Reving stalling *mutters*

Ghost Lemur
31st August 2006, 10:52
Need some diagnostic help.

Riding to work this morning, everything was right with the world.

Noticed that as I was changing gears (up) the engine was slightly over reving. Thought it was just because I'm a novice and my gear change technique could do with some work.

Bit further down the road, all of a sudden the bike just revs itself to hell, calms back down and stalls.

Pulled over, gave it a kick and proceeded on my way. Bit further down to road it did it again. Long story short, I ended up having to run my bike the last 500m to work as I was late.

Can anyone help with suggestions as to what could be going on. Went down during my break and she started fine, reved her a bit and nothing but normal.

Thoughts?

Other tidbits which may or may not be useful in figuring out whats wrong...

I've been having to leave the chock on to ride, even though my routine naturally leads to warming up the bike before hoping on. If I close the chock the bike stalls.

While it was happening it seemed to associated with me clutching in, to the lights for example.

My ideas (based on my nonexistant technical knowledge), throttle cable? Clutch? Dirty fuel? It's possessed? Something related to the chock?

bobsmith
31st August 2006, 11:14
sounds like something blocking the fuel supply (it goes lean, engine revs up, then gets too lean and stalls) and I think that's why leaving the chock on keeps it going......

check your fuel filter and make sure there's fuel in the tank... perhaps crap in the tank? are all fuel lines in good shape and no fuel line pinched?

paturoa
31st August 2006, 11:16
First thoughts are that it is starving for gas, starts running lean (hence revs up) and the dies as runs out of gas.

Is it a vaccum actuated petcock or a manual one?

**R1**
31st August 2006, 11:16