PDA

View Full Version : GB400 cam chain help

mark247
26th March 2007, 18:54
My GB has a bit of a rattly camchain and im thinking i should probably replace it sometime soon. I know a bit about engines but im no pro. But i would like to save money and do it myself. Are the parts hard to get and how much do they cost? And how long does it take for a mechanic to replace the camchain? Oh yeah, and should i get the tensioner done at the same time? Or possibly just do the tensioner?

Thanks in advance.

xwhatsit
26th March 2007, 23:04
No idea how much it would cost for a mechanic to do, but I did my camchain when I was fixing the engine and it was not really that difficult.

My bike has a very similar engine to yours, so I assume most of what I know applies. Parts, get them from Econohonda (http://www.econohonda.co.nz/), they are very cheap, and they will definitely have everything you need. Camchain for my 250 was $~70 or something. Tensioner is probably a good idea, but if it's not showing huge amounts of wear then it should be fine, or so I'm told. Definitely replace the camchain though, because not only do you have to worry about the tension on the chain (a combination of chain and tensioner), you also have to worry about the chain being so stretched it'll get your timing out.

If your engine's like mine, you need to take off the crankcase side cover, which will mean a new gasket, and a new rocker cover gasket too if you have one. It's all very cheap to do, less than $120 or so in parts. Definitely do it or have it done, don't muck around with camchain, very expensive if it fails you.

What?
27th March 2007, 06:28
I strongly advise replacing the tensioner and guide when replacing the cam chain. Failure to do so will result in a short life for the new chain.