PDA

View Full Version : Idle speed problem VL250

mattian
16th August 2007, 07:04
G'day folks. I have a Suzuki VL 250 2006 model. (before you hold that against me) I am a "newbie" rider and this is my first bike. It was stalling while it was idling so, I adjusted the idle speed and it idles ok now (sometimes it idles a little fast and then slows down..... its a little bit irregular) The biggest problem I have is that ever since I adjusted the idle speed it seems very sluggish when I take off in first gear. It really struggles to get going and when I pull up to a stop the engine will often just stop!
Its could be anything..... even very simple but, as I say I am very new to bikes so my mechanical knowledge is also pretty simple. I would appreciate any advice that someone could give me about what might be wrong with it. Thanks.

98tls
16th August 2007, 10:25
Mate i am not familar with the model of bike you have,i am assuming its got carbs as opposed to injected,when you say you adjusted the idle are you sure you havent adjusted fuel/air mixture instead.

MSTRS
16th August 2007, 10:30
Mate i am not familar with the model of bike you have,i am assuming its got carbs as opposed to injected,when you say you adjusted the idle are you sure you havent adjusted fuel/air mixture instead.

A possibility. But that would be over-ridden as soon as the carb slider(s) move. The greater chance is that there is some crap or water in the float bowl, being sucked against the main and/or pilot jets.

Paul in NZ
16th August 2007, 10:54
Sorry - let us know a bit more re your experience etc - ie - how familiar are you with the workings of your 'carb'??. Basically, if the bike was running OK and then it stopped running OK, fiddling with the carb settings are unlikely to have cured the original problem...

Sounds like you should take it to the shop for a service and tune.. OR if you want to do it yourself - first step is to get a manual.