PDA

View Full Version : North and South Island Tour this summer

Macstar
25th September 2007, 17:48
Hey guys & gals

I'd like to bring the much talked about NZ tour forward a little by starting a thread now so that people can start saving $$, getting their bikes mechanically ready and planning time off work etc.

Here's the rough idea:

What: A non-rushed tour of NZ (2-3 weeks)
When: Dec or Jan
Who: Anyone with a bike really but officially a SMC club ride.
Why: Could be my last chance to see NZ before moving overseas, and like many other Kiwis, I've never done this before.

*I reckon up to 3000-4000kms could be travelled on this trip.
*My bike costs 30 cents per km on average to run 900cc (all expenses including gas), so there's around $1000 in bike costs for me, others may be less.
*Return ferry ride $100?
*Accom $300 (campgrounds)
*AA membership $150
*Food and beers etc 700 ish.

Total: $2250 approx (riding one up)
or Total: $1750 (Bike fees can be cut in half if you take a passenger).

So, who's keen and when?
Any cost saving tips for the trip?

bomma
25th September 2007, 20:18
hmm didnt think itd be that expensive aye....ill prolly rack up a few more hundie in petrol costs on the kwaka than your rf.....

mayb i shud take her in for servicing and hope i get a moto guzzi as a replacement bike :lol:

dnt know if i can make that one but ill sure as hell try my best!!!

and what you mean you are moving overseas?!?!?!

NighthawkNZ
25th September 2007, 20:29

So, who's keen and when?

Well I am sure some of the dunedin crew will do a day ride with you... some maybe even further... also depends what else is on and all that blah blah blah

Let me know when and if you come to Dunedin...

klyong82
25th September 2007, 20:48
Keep me updated. Could follow you if you make it during Christmas New Year's time.....but I am keen

doc
25th September 2007, 20:57