PDA

View Full Version : xr250 - grey oil

Scheme
24th October 2007, 20:21
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the scene and just bought an 87 honda xr250 on Saturday. Went out for a few rides over the weekend and did an oil change today - I drained the original lot which was very grey/milky it wasnt creamy/white like water and oil usually make, but a dark grey, filled it up with fresh oil, ran it for 5 checked it and had gone the same colour, so I repeated the process (left the bung out for a good hour) filled it up again with fresh oil, ran it for a few minutes and had returned to the grey colour again. I drowned the bike pretty well on Monday, and I've removed the air cleaner soaked it in solvent and washed it out, re-oiled it and put it back in. I would of thought with 2 oil changes any water left in the system would of been rid of? Is there something else that may be doing it? any help appreciated, cheers.

kiwi cowboy
24th October 2007, 20:37
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the scene and just bought an 87 honda xr250 on Saturday. Went out for a few rides over the weekend and did an oil change today - I drained the original lot which was very grey/milky it wasnt creamy/white like water and oil usually make, but a dark grey, filled it up with fresh oil, ran it for 5 checked it and had gone the same colour, so I repeated the process (left the bung out for a good hour) filled it up again with fresh oil, ran it for a few minutes and had returned to the grey colour again. I drowned the bike pretty well on Monday, and I've removed the air cleaner soaked it in solvent and washed it out, re-oiled it and put it back in. I would of thought with 2 oil changes any water left in the system would of been rid of? Is there something else that may be doing it? any help appreciated, cheers.
was the oridginal oil grey when you got it ?

merv
24th October 2007, 20:43
What sort of water you drown it in? Clean water or slushy muck with grey stuff in it?