PDA

View Full Version : ZXR250 servicing?

RSrider
22nd January 2008, 07:47
Hi Guys (and girls),

I am relatively new to the motorbike scene and have recently purchased a 1993 ZXR250C. It's a great bike, but the previous owner had only done 200kms on it in the past 2 years, and I think it's in need of a good service.

First question:

Where do I buy oil filters, air filters etc for this bike from? Can I get them from Repco, or do only bike shops sell these parts?

Second Question:

What is the best oil to put in the bike? The service manual recommends SAE 10w40, 15w40 or 20w50. Can I use a good car oil like magnatec, or is there something specific for motorcycles you can recommend?

Now, I am going to do the above work myself, as I took all the fairings and other parts off on the weekend, and it doesnt look too hard. However I am going to get the bike checked out by a good bike shop and find out what other problems the bike might have. I believe it needs the carbs/jets cleaned. What sort of money am I looking at to have this done?

And one more question! LOL:

There is a fairly loud rattle on startup and idle, it dissapears when the revs are higher. I thought possibly the chain, but of course at the time that this rattle is happening the chain isnt moving, so kind of rules that out.

All your help is appreciated.

Thanks

Rory

Ragingrob
22nd January 2008, 08:06
Hello and welcome :)

Oil and air filters are best bought from MC shops I don't think Repco would have them at all because they are specific to each and every bike,

From what I've heard, definitely use MC oil as opposed to car oil, there must be some difference, and there are a lot of opinions on how synthetic you want your oil due to clutch slipping etc.