PDA

View Full Version : Replacing cam chains?

FilthyLuka
14th April 2008, 16:27
Hey guys

When one replaces a camchain on a IL4 motorcycle, (where you cannot just take of the side crank case cover, Whip off the clutch basket, slip the chain of and slip another one on), one has to either totally disassemble the engine, put on an endless chain, OR break the cam chain, attach it to the old one and pull it through then use a softlink or re-rivet the camchain.

My question to you fullas, where can i find these soft links? I have a cam-chain breaker and what not, but i have no clue as the where to find these soft-links.

The other option would be to re-rivet the chain, the tool i have is capable of re-riveting chains, but i have never done this before and have a few questions.
1) Do i use the rivet a pushed out of the camchain when i broke it? Or do i need a new one?
2) Where can i find new rivets for the cam chain

Im asking as the idea of removing cases, splitting them, taking out the crankshaft, slipping on the new endless chain and re-assembling seems like such a pain.

Im asking this in general BTW, its for any IL4 motorbike with chain between cylinders 2 and 3

Grub
14th April 2008, 16:35
My question to you fullas, where can i find these soft links? I have a cam-chain breaker and what not, but i have no clue as the where to find these soft-links.

Well I don't know where to get them sorry but it's now SOP to split chains and rivet in a new one. I've just had mine done by an Authorised Honda Service Agent. My bet is that there are now special chains, links and tools to do this. My chain was a genuine Honda one so this is not bodge-job stuff.

Katman
14th April 2008, 16:41
Any bike shop that can supply you with the chain can supply you with the split link. (They may have to get of their arse and get it in for you though).

FilthyLuka
14th April 2008, 16:49