PDA

View Full Version : Humor/Beer and the gearbox

Subike
21st October 2008, 17:55
I thouight that I would share this will you all
I copied it from another thread, a bit of a long read but worth the effort.
This is how you fix a gearbox on an XS1100 Yamaha

""How not to fix second gear

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I decided to do the second gear fix, since I am generally a fair hand with a wrench and can hold my alcohol well with the best of them.

I studied all the pictures in TC's post about the job, and even printed out the printable version as a shop reference. After carefully reading at least half of each sentence at the beginning of the paragraph, I was done with my first beer, or Mike's hard cherry-lime-pomegranate-truffle-apple-road tar-what not flavored beer.
That stuff is pretty tasty, so I grabbed another one and had a good look at the bike to see what I needed to start on. I figured I could ignore some of the suggestions in the write up about taking some of the stuff off before flipping the bike over. It would be easier with it up in the air to get to the clutch and such, and obviously the guys who had dome it before me had not had enough beer to figure these things out properly.
So about 4 pm I pulled the stuff off the handle bars, which got me a tad thirsty, so I grabbed another beer. I pulled the seat off, and the right rear turn signal, laid some cardboard down so as not to scratch up the handle bars and grab bar.
I figured I would need some help with the flip so I asked SWMBO to bring me another beer. I'll be damned if she hadn't been drinking it too and we were all out. She decided we were sober enough between the two of us to make a beer run. She is a helluva woman.