PDA

View Full Version : Noobie needs help. KDX200 Top End Rebuild

Badger8
2nd November 2008, 06:41
Everyone prepare to laugh at the newbie :bleh:
Am totally new to the world of 2-strokes, having recently got my hands on a KDX200 for a bit of off-road fun. I am loving her to bits, even though she still scares the hell outta me at times, heheh.

Anyways, she is due for a top end rebuild. I have never done one before, and have a few questions (many of them probably laughable, but we all have a first time for things :yes:)
Any help appreciated (and a bit of ribbing expected)

-Easy to do? (i'm an engineer, and fairly mechanically minded, just never done one before)
-Good place to procure the bits? and what bits do i need? (new piston, rings, gaskets... anything else? Elbow grease? Headlight fluid? :bleh:) How much are the bits likely to set me back?
-Wanting to chuck an hour meter on her too. Easily done to set one up to run off the alternator? (told you i was a noob to this :laugh:)

and... erm... how would one go about it? :o
i've had a mate describe it as "just rip the head off, pull the piston out, whack the new one in, bolt the head back on... be done before you finish your 2nd beer", but he is also a bit of a mannus...

Am just going through the process of gettin ready to do it at this stage, but she really does need it done fairly soon.

Any help appreciated! :2thumbsup

cs363
2nd November 2008, 07:14
-Easy to do? (i'm an engineer, and fairly mechanically minded, just never done one before)

Yes. They really are easy to work on.

-Good place to procure the bits? and what bits do i need? (new piston, rings, gaskets... anything else? Elbow grease? Headlight fluid? :bleh:) How much are the bits likely to set me back?