PDA

View Full Version : B1 Rep water-cooled hard to start + Does not idle

Leyton
21st November 2008, 22:45
Hello

I am rather new to the B1 Replica's so I am not sure what to expect.

I find the bike quite hard to start, My method is simply, Choke down, pull pull pull till it fires, Takes about 4 pulls! quick ones.

Then 2 more pulls with the throttle wide open till it kicks into life.

Another interesting thing is..
It does not idle for more then 10seconds without cutting out suddenly, and the revs should be high enough, its sounds light they are at a suitable idle.

I have not had the privledge yet of seeing how this bike goes under load, or when it is fully warmed up.

The bike has done one season from new apperently so it should be fairly worn in by now :).

Is it normal for them to just cut out before they are warm ?

What is your method of starting ? (I will try it tomorrow)

Also, What Fuel mixture are you running ?, I want to lean it to 40:1 tomorrow with TTS to see if that helps.

Cheers in advance :)
Leyton

CookMySock
22nd November 2008, 05:32
That happens when the sparkplug gap is too wide. Just close it up a wee bit at a time until the bike runs perfect. Or if you are in a hurry like me just close it up heaps to start with. ;)

We run 100:1 no probs but thats on amsoil. Choke, one pull primes, next pull starts, choke off, perfect idle. Every time.

People who start my bikes lean over them ready to give that starter cord a five minute thrashin' and they are visibly shocked when it simply starts first pull, and sits there idling ting-ting-a-tinga-ting-ting, almost mocking them. :hug:

Amsoil. :love:

Steve

BigAl
22nd November 2008, 07:14
Hey Leyton,

Caution do not lean your bike out until you have run it long enough to see what colour the plug runs.
You should stick to running the B1 at 25 or 30:1 for now.
Most of the guys inc myself run our B1/B2s at 25:1 and certainly not anything like 100:1 as DB says. TTS is good.