PDA

View Full Version : fzr 750 seized motor

dvsbob
2nd March 2009, 15:48
i was given a 1987 fzr750 by a mate(well so i thought). it wasn't running but i thoufght what the hell. this little "project" has now become a full on obsession. i will not rest until i have the damn thing going. i'm no mechanic but know my way around a garage, so be kind,and please forgive any stupid questions. everyone had to start somewhere. anyway the damn thing is seized. starter motor is fine, battery is good.pull the clutch in and it will move. release it and the rear locks up. any suggestions as to where to start would be most appreciated. as to why it seized, i wasn't able to get anything more than "it used to be a goer" out of my "alledged friend"

pete376403
2nd March 2009, 16:17
Siezed as in "the motor doesn't turn over" or seized as in "the motor runs but locks up in gear"?
Narrow it down a bit first.
If the motor doesn't turn over - crankshaft / pistons / broken cam chain / broken primary chain -
If the motor runs then the problem is going to be clutch/ gearbox related.

They are a fun motor to pull apart BUT you have to remove the head and barrel to split the cases as there are four bolts underneath the barrel.
Keep track of where all the bolts go. IIRC you undo 40 bolts just to get the cams out.

I've a Haynes service manual if you need it

dvsbob
2nd March 2009, 16:45
in neutral rear wheel rotates fine. in gear and it just locks up solid.

R1madness
2nd March 2009, 17:28
Ok. I owned and raced these for years. They are pretty simple as far as 20 valve inliine 4s go.
Put it in top gear, pull the clutch in and get a mate to push. when you are pushing as hard as you can let the clutch out while similtainiously jumping on the seat. Does it turn over or just lock the back wheel solid? Let me know and we can take it from here.

FROSTY
2nd March 2009, 17:37
R1--mate Im not sure I'd suggest this course of action.
Im thinking one set of rings glued to bore.