PDA

View Full Version : 3 point turn cop on trial

cheshirecat
23rd March 2009, 19:33
Surely that the cop thinks that the bikes in question were exceeding 100kph is subjective and irrelevant, as it's without evidence/proof and so not acceptable in court.
In the UK I was told this sort of evidence was not accepted, ie no proof. Even an eye witness to an accident can't say the vehicle was going too fast unless they have a calibrated speeding device

I'm not a lawyer but if this sort of evidence is accepted then an unfortunate precedent would be made going against the international norm - well UK law, Euro law and US?

Renegade
23rd March 2009, 19:41
unless it is proved that the bikes in question be it the actual bikes or identical equivilent riden at 100kph and at the point they were able to see the obstruction in the road, were able to stop safely in the distance available.

excess speed or rider error would be a contributing factor to the crash if they could have stopped.

Just saying.....i dont know the in's or outs of this case yet.

98tls
23rd March 2009, 19:47
As he is no longer a cop i cant imagine it worthy of a thread,lets face it for most interweb bikers that point was the attraction.

Beemer
23rd March 2009, 21:48
Sorry, but he was in the middle of a three-point turn to chase another motorcyclist so his concentration (what little he obviously had) would have been on that, so how on earth could he - while side on to the poor buggers who hit him - judge what speed they were doing? The fact is, he did a dumb thing in a dumb place and if he had been a civilian and they had been police bike riders then he would have had his arse kicked long ago.

His adrenaline rush from seeing a speeding motorcyclist he could chase would have overridden anything else. Hope he gets done and I would feel the same way if he was Joe Bloggs rather than a (at the time) cop.