Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: A question about tax and all things contractor

Bike
    A fast one

A question about tax and all things contractor

As someone who is a self-employed contractor, how complicated is it to file my taxes?

Assuming I am someone who has never done it before, is it straight forward or should I get an accountant to sort it?

I understand that as a contractor, I am eligible for tax deductions - I've been saving my petrol receipts per the advice of a colleague, however I am not sure if what they said is right - it sounds too good to be true. They mentioned I can get 15% of my fuel bill off my end of year tax dollars owed to IRD, is this true?

Bike
    1982 Suzuki GS1100GK, 2008 KLR650
    Blog Entries
    You should really talk to an accountant - it's too easy to get tax wrong and when you do IRD is merciless. (Been there, done that, got the bill)
    Accounts fees, like virtually all business expenses, are deductible.
    it's not a bad thing till you throw a KLR into the mix.
    those cheap ass bitches can do anything with ductape.
    (PostalDave on ADVrider)

Bike
    A fast one
    Quote Originally Posted by pete376403 View Post
    You should really talk to an accountant - it's too easy to get tax wrong and when you do IRD is merciless. (Been there, done that, got the bill)
    Again, someone who has never even spoken to an accountant. Is it likely to be very expensive to get them to go over my income and sort out tax?

Bike
    Dog Rooter, 1290 SDR
    Quote Originally Posted by The End View Post
    Again, someone who has never even spoken to an accountant. Is it likely to be very expensive to get them to go over my income and sort out tax?
    Its much cheaper than getting caught out and getting a $15,000 bill that they want paid at the end of the week. I know somebody that got caught that way.

Yes accountants cost, as do tax agents. But you can claim that cost back. Get good advice from the start.

Bike
    raptor 1000