Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to sportsbike - Correct seating position?

Bike
    -Bikeless-

New to sportsbike - Correct seating position?

Hi Guys, so I have recently acquired a 2008 Honda CBR600RR instead of the R6, and even though the 600RR is more friendly and easier to ride than the R6 I'm still trying to find out the "correct" riding position, so to not to fatique oneself so easily and get wrist pain.

From what I can pick up on the last thread I made is that I have been pushing down on the handlebars too much - how does one avoid doing this? going chicken wings/bending the elbows slightly and gripping the tank with the thighs?

I did try using my shoulder and back to support the body instead but then on roads with lots of stops it end up giving me one hell of a back pain instead - maybe theres something wrong with the way I sit on the bike as I was resting my body on the tank? (lol)

So yeah I am a total noob when it comes to the aggressive riding position but i'm pretty much wanting to figure out the right riding position. Can anyone give me a pointer for this sorry noob here?

Rather than speculating I'd rather ask the more experienced sportsbike rider here.

Previously I have been riding CBR250R most of the time.

Thanks in advance!

Bike
    2018 Triump Street Triple 765 rs
    Go do California Superbike school.
    They will show you all you need to know.

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk
    Trumpydom!

Bike
    CB919, 1090R, R1200GSA
    Blog Entries
    Yep, grip the tank with knees and thighs (also stuff like Stomp Grip is available) and support your body that way.

Most of us see the light and get a bike with a more comfortable riding position.
    Quote Originally Posted by Jane Omorogbe from UK MSN on the KTM990SM
    It's barking mad and if it doesn't turn you into a complete loon within half an hour of cocking a leg over the lofty 875mm seat height, I'll eat my Arai.

Bike
    89 GS500, 89 ZXR400, 93 RGV250, 14 MT07