Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Are the police clamping down on lane splitting?

Bike
    2010, Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Are the police clamping down on lane splitting?

Hi all,

For the past few weeks I've seen a lot of bikes pulled over by a motorcycle policeman on SH1 just past (or on) the Constellation Drive on-ramp (south bound), anyone know if they are being nabbed for lanesplitting/filtering or something else ?

Wondering if I should ease off on my lane splitting on that stretch in the mornings ... want to spend my money on more fun things :-)

Ta!

Bike
    2001 RC46
    Blog Entries
    There's a couple of guys at work that ride that way (and lanesplit), and they've said that they've been slowed down by a cop on a bike, but not pulled over and/or ticketed.
    I've been communtering by bike on the Norfshaw for over 15 years, and I must say that in the first couple of years the cops were hammering bikers, but in the last few they seem to be ignoring lanesplitting and the like. I don't know if this is an actual thing (like they've been instructed to not worry about it), or they're too busy with more important stuff, or the increase in traffic means it's impractical to devote much effort to it.
    My advice to you is to carry on, but keep your speed down, and be careful and responsible about it.
    ... and that's what I think.

Or summat.

Or maybe not...

Dunno really....

Bike
    Not a Hayabusa anymore
    I had a lovely chat with an Office in the location - Wasn't stopped, it was while we were riding tandem in Traffic:

"when the traffic hits 40 - find a gap"

I think this is one of those 'people complain about the speed of lane splitters' (I split higher than 40....) and so the police are having a word with Bikers - haven't heard of any tickets though.
    Physics; Thou art a cruel, heartless Bitch-of-a-Mistress

Bike
    Indian Scout

Is he a Ginga?

So that's where our most unpopular Cop has been transfered to. You boys in Auckland are welcome to him.