Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Can anyone show me (in person) how to change oil & filter?

Bike
    2011 Suzuki GSX-R 750

Can anyone show me (in person) how to change oil & filter?

Ok. Before anyone blasts me off as another Gixxer squid, hear me out. I've been riding motorbikes for the last 5 years and went thru my CBRs, Ninjas, and Yamahas before trying out a 750cc from Suzuki.

However, being a student back then and now a full-time worker I've never had the chance to learn how to maintain my motorbike other than taking the bike for services at the shop every 5000kms (I know). I have learnt about chain maintenance and lubrication since and also bits and pieces that I pick up here and there, but nothing much about oil/filter change.

I'm in Christchurch City, and really just want to learn more about my bike and how to take care of it. When I took them to my local bike shop (don't want to call out any names), they just aren't interested in teaching/showing me and only ask for my money after pushing the bike into their workshop where I can't see anything.

I would really appreciate if someone can help a brother out. I just want to know how to take the fairings out, how to empty the oil, pour the oil, change the oil and filter. I've watched many videos on Youtube but I'd still rather someone with mechanical experience/background/expertise show me how.

Thanks fellas

Bike
    '74 MV Augusta I wish
    Blog Entries
    As a general guide one could start here

https://youtu.be/Ft1IkFZkJts

Bike
    invisibike
    Blog Entries
    i suppose everyone has to start somewhere,.. but there really isnt much to fuck up...

Bike
    Between bikes
    Quote Originally Posted by wind_glider View Post
    here me out.
    "It's hard to keep an open mind, when so many people are trying to put things in it"

Bike
    ducati 900ss f650
    Quote Originally Posted by Akzle View Post
    .. but there really isnt much to fuck up...