Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Legal to Ride on Car License Over 125cc

Bike
    None

eek Legal to Ride on Car License Over 125cc

Am a complete noob to the biking world (always wanted to ride but ended up with a car), so please go easy on me lol.

I have been informed that there are some bikes that can be ridden using a car license which are above 50cc (i.e. Yamaha Tricity, Piaggio MP3, etc etc), however does anyone know if this rule only applies to trikes, or alike, which are registered as cars? I have been told that the Piaggio MP3 is considered a car if 300cc but the 400cc model is considered a bike/trike and requires bike licensing.

I am looking to obtain one of these for my sheety Auckland motorway commute, but obviously would not be seeking to do this without getting some standard bike training and becoming confident on one first. And yes I will be looking to getting a bike at some stage with full bike license but this is what I am aiming at now

I do not like the idea of anything below 200cc, does anyone know of where I might be able to get a full list of bike/trikes that can be ridden using a car license and are over 125cc? Information seems to be quite limited for these.

Bike
    S1000RR
    I heard "trikes" with two wheels in the front is considered a car.

If you can make it on Kiwibiker you can make it anywhere.

Bike
    Canadian Red Back
    Quote Originally Posted by EJK View Post
    yep they are, this thread has more info

Bike
    Triumph Speed Triple
    Blog Entries
    Interesting question, I think the information is limited because the field is limited. I have never actually set eyes on one of the models you mention. The Can Am Spyder is the most common three wheeler but It would seem to have the disadvantages of a car and a bike without the advantages.
    There is a grey blur, and a green blur. I try to stay on the grey one. - Joey Dunlop

Bike
    None

eek

Quote Originally Posted by Hawk View Post