Thread: Rejetting a GPX250

Bike
    Kawasaki GPX250

Rejetting a GPX250

I'm having some trouble with my GPX, symptoms of fuel supply problem, just cleaned and refitted carbs, problem not solved. Going to tear them down again next sunny day.

In the meantime, I'd like to look into performance options as well, starting with a higher flow air filter, which will need a rejet. I know kits for this are available overseas, but any local suppliers? Not looking for much power, only a street bike, ideally looking for a little more pep in motorway speeds, she's fast enough for the suburbs...

Toying around with the idea as I'm looking into tossing the irritating stock airbox for something a bit easier to work with...

Any advice appreciated, I'm new to carbs, my major mechanical experience has been with EFI vehicles.

Bike
    Dougcati, Geoff and Suzi
    if you toss the airbox then it will take some hard work to make it run smooth again. well so i'm told.
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul in NZ View Post
    Ha...Thats true but life is full horrible choices sometimes Merv. Then sometimes just plain stuff happens... and then some more stuff happens.....

Alloy, stainless and Ti polishing.
    Bling your bike out!
    PM me

Bike
    RZ496/Street 765RS/GasGas/ etc etc
    Blog Entries
    To be frank you won’t be getting much mondo improvement out of such a beast. Best get to run as well as std & be happy until it is time for another bike. You will have to sort your original problem out regardless. Don't throw that airbox, trust me.

It is not a new bike so there are a few options: Your floats could be leaking. The float jets could be leaking. The float height could be way out.
    The fuel line could be kinked which is hard to see & catches a few out esp if you have a fuel filter.

The airfilter has to be clean (if foam oiled only with proper oil, if paper can vacuum a bit -replace if real dirty), the tank vent open, fuel tap filter clean.