Thread: basic Handling Skills Course.

Bike
    CBR1000

Question basic Handling Skills Course.

Hi,

I'm very new to riding. So new in fact that I need to enroll to do a Basic Handling Skills Course in order to get my Learners License. Can anybody tell me where the best place is to do this and how much this will cost to do in the Auckland Area?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated at this early stage.

Regards.

Jono

Bike
    Scorpio, XL1200N
    I can recommend John Wright (he advertises at www.redbaron.co.nz under 'Rider Tuition'). He does learn-to-ride sessions on nice new CB250s and basic handling skills tests, check the website for his contact details etc. I did one of his sessions before I got my bike, and he was very confidence-inspiring. If you actually need to learn on a bike (as opposed to just take the test 'coz you can already ride), then you should definitely do one of his sessions.

PassRite (www.passrite.co.nz) do an all-in-one-day thing where they put you through the handling test, give you the cert (if you pass) and book you in at a local LTSA to do the theory test. So you can be riding legally after just a Saturday morning's worth of faffing around. IME the guys there aren't very good at actually teaching you to ride, so only do that session if you're already comfortable on a bike. They'll chew you up and spit you out without a certificate pretty fast otherwise, and you've wasted a couple of hours and got nowhere.

Whoever you go with, you'll probably need to book 2-4 weeks in advance, so get onto it!

Bike
    CBR1000
    Originally posted by jrandom