PDA

View Full Version : Computer training for senior citizens

Blackbird
3rd June 2009, 20:15
Mrs B and I have just offered ourselves up as volunteer tutors for Coromandel Senior Net as they were in danger of folding. My background is engineering, not IT but I've used computers for an awful lot of years. The hard copy material for Introduction to Computers (all the basics of using your mouse, navigating around the computer, using email etc) were apparently purchased from Wellington Senior Net 4 years ago. Without wishing to be uncharitable, I'd bet money that it was all written by an IT nerd with eff-all connection to real people, and certainly not newbies of pensionable age. It gives Microsoft a run for its money in terms of useless support manuals and would overwhelm people rather than enthuse them. (I suppose that I've now offended at least 90% of the members of KB who are connected with I.T :innocent:)

The club does have a very good South African beginners book but it's expensive and I won't breach copyright by copying it as support notes - it's fine to use as a teaching aid. I'm happy to write some material of my own but does any knowledgeable person happen to know of any free soft copy sources of support material for really simple introductory computer material? Even stuff that that I can cut and paste to make one document from?

Would love to hear from you if you're able to help. It's for a great cause.

Cheers,

Geoff

Vgygrwr
3rd June 2009, 23:27
I feel sure you would have looked but I have found a lot of really good material just by doing a search for a tutorial in the area I wanted. Some on "pay" sites but plenty that is quite genuinely free, published for "not for profit" organizations. What particular areas are you looking for.

Blackbird
4th June 2009, 08:29