PDA

View Full Version : RMZ Conversion

That Guy
4th June 2009, 11:51
Hi all, thought I'd post up here my progress in building my first motard bike. I have a RMZ450 sitting in the garage so that's going to be the bike. Not the best bike being a 4 speed but good enough to start with for me as I have never done motard before.

Will post up some pics soon.

Stage 1:
Starting with 3.5x17 front, and 4.25x17 rear wheels (excel), bigger disc, skids knobs, hand guards, carb/radiator catch can, 15 x 45 gearing, lock wiring a few parts, smaller front guard and a new exhaust to liberate some exhaust gases:msn-wink:

Stage II:
once I've done some races and learnt how to ride fast enough (if) will be slipper clutch, bigger front caliper and master cylinder, some engine work and more sprockets once I get a feel for which track needs what gearing.

Just placed orders for Stage 1. Plan to have ready for the taupo motard event in August.

DELLORTO
4th June 2009, 14:41
4 speed?? what year is that?

That Guy
4th June 2009, 15:17

Shorty_925
4th June 2009, 15:40
Sounds good. Interesting gearing, what is the rear tyre you gong to be running? And what size tyre?

kezzafish
4th June 2009, 18:42
will be interesting to see how you get on with the gearing. I figured it would be a waste of money for me to get motard rims for my SXF450 'cos of the 4 speed. But if you get on allright it may be worthwhile for me to look into.

Then there's the internal gearing to take into account as my 4th seems lower than other 4speed MXer 450s i've ridden. Stupid SX model. Other thing i've heard is that the 5 speed out of the 450 XCF will fit in mine but that's an expensive exercise and now i'm just a thread pirate lol. Anyone know about this stuff? Quasi? i'm sure i can find the gear ratio facts on the KTM website but what about the XCF conversion?

That Guy
4th June 2009, 19:56