PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a GB400TT or 500

phaedrus01
8th June 2009, 12:20
As I'm relatively new to his game thought I would just ask if anyone out there knows of any particular quirks or things to look out for on these machines apart from the usual things to look out for on a used bike. Also a rough idea of price? I have seen a few for around $3k ish and one currently on tard me for $1500 but no wof repainted tank etc....Any comments would be appreciated.

Cheers

birdhandler
8th June 2009, 20:23
Here is a good place to start they have a devoted following

http://www.thumperpage.com/articles/gb-500faq.html

My understanding from memory is that the 400 with the factory fairing is quite a rare beast so it may be worth taking a punt on but thats IMHO

Good Luck

monkeymcbean
8th June 2009, 20:33
Hi, I was originally looking at on of these exactly as you are, as previous post mentions they do come up on 'trademe' quiet frequently, there was a minter listed not long ago that was stored away with only a few hundred kilometers on the clock.
I googled this bike and found a site which does list a few of the things to look out for when buying these second hand, and a few test rides and options on how they ride etc etc...good luck i think they are real cool and can pick them up for a reasonable price.

KiwiKat
8th June 2009, 20:46
PM Bonez, he seems to have hankering for these old hondas, particularly the 400. These old beasts have awesome stopping power.

banditrider
9th June 2009, 19:10
These old beasts have awesome stopping power.

Nearly stopped a 750F...

Bonez
9th June 2009, 19:37
Bloody good wee bikes. Seem to hold their value. No power house though.

http://www.kiwibiker.co.nz/forums/showthread.php?t=12860

robinm
9th June 2009, 19:46