PDA

View Full Version : New clutch cable for my CB250RS

Ms Piggy
28th June 2009, 15:37
*Please note, I'm a novice when it comes to things mechanical to do with motorbikes, so excuse the use of many non-technical terms!*

My bike has this flaw (okay well it has a few!) which means that the clutch cable wire (inner?) wears because the cable doesn't/won't sit flush with the upper adjuster bits and so it means the cable is sitting on a bit of an angle and therefore scraping on the metal and getting worn...eventually snapping. I can see it's close to snapping again.

My questions: can I just get the inner clutch cable (the wire bit)? If I can, is it easy to take out the old cable inner and insert the new one? Or should I just get a completely new inner and outer cable? I'm fairly confident I can fit the new cable myself.

Thanks, Ms Piggy.

Ocean1
28th June 2009, 15:51
You can replace just the inner, but it's usually not worth it. There will (should) be a plastic liner inside the outer case, if the outer is kinked that liner will be history, time to lash out on a complete new one.

You're right, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to fit a new cable, just watch the quality on offer, some of it's utter shite. If you get stuck holler and I'll see if I can help.

dogsnbikes
28th June 2009, 16:06
Just looked at mine and they are flush so by your upper adjuster bits I assume you mean wear you adjust it on the clutch lever?do you have the rubber boot that goes on the cable at the lever end and how far out would you have that top adjuster out making sure that the cut is pointing up so it supports the cable outer

Ms Piggy
18th July 2009, 18:12
You're right, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to fit a new cable, just watch the quality on offer, some of it's utter shite. If you get stuck holler and I'll see if I can help.