PDA

View Full Version : Simple bike servicing

p.dath
24th July 2009, 16:44
I'm not a particularly mechanical minded person, and have a dilemma with my Honda CBR600.

I wouldn't mind doing the basic servicing myself, like changing the oil. I can manage simple things like that.

The bit that worries me about doing it myself (as opposed to getting an expert to do it) is knowing when all the other bits need doing.
For example, how frequently to change the oil filter, spark plugs, fuel filters, chain adjustment, brake pads, and all the other little bits that need things replaced/cleaned from time to time.

Its easy taking it to a bike mechanic, because they can spot things that need doing, or know when everything should be done.

But I feel like I'm missing out on half the fun of owning a bike - looking after its maintenance.

Is their a simple compromise you can think of? Perhaps if I did the oil myself, but took it into a bike mechanic every 12 months to take care of all the other bits? Apart from the oil needing regular changing, is there anything else that needs to be done regularly more frequently than this?

rosie631
24th July 2009, 16:50
If you get a service manual it should have a maintenance schedule. i.e. what needs doing every 800ks etc, etc

Henk
24th July 2009, 17:46
As above, get a maintenance manual. The service intervals should also be in the owners manual if you have one. Things like chain tightening and brake pads are an as required job so you just need to get to the stage where you can tell if your chain is too loose and the brake pads are worn too far. I'm sure there are general bike maintenace books that would point you in the right direction here, or ask a mate that has a clue to have a look. There is nothing too tricky when working on bikes, the only reason I can see to get a mechanic to do things is to keep a warranty alive.

gwigs
24th July 2009, 17:47
As Rosie says get a manual but you will also need a good range of tools,