PDA

View Full Version : 2 stroke mufflers

rotang
31st March 2005, 18:58
Hi I have an 02 RM250 iv been trying to get some more power from it, I heard cutting the rear muffler down 100mm will increase power is that true??

soundbeltfarm
31st March 2005, 19:48
Hi I have an 02 RM250 iv been trying to get some more power from it, I heard cutting the rear muffler down 100mm will increase power is that true??

im no mechanic but if that was the case wouldn't suzuki have done that on the production line?
unless its something to do with regulations.

Krusti
31st March 2005, 20:02
Does work. Pro Circuit even makes one. Why? Don't know.

XTC
31st March 2005, 20:12
Can also make them even more obscenely loud than they already are....

Jantar
31st March 2005, 20:34
2 stroke exhaust design is quite a complex science. Yes, you can get more oomph by modifying the exhaust, but you need to very careful as in getting that power increase you will also change the power band characteristics. The exhaust design maximises the power output at the designed rpm. Changing any of the lengths will change the rpm at which the exhaust is effective

If you shorten the header pipe, then the whole power range will occur at higher rpm, and unless the porting is changed to suit, and the carburetor size increased and intake length reduced then you will have a very peaky engine that will deliver less power at all but peak rpm.

If you shorten the distance between the difuser cone and the baffle cone, then you will achieve a higher peak rpm without altering the transfer port characteristic, but you will have reduced the overall chamber volume and hence increased the average back pressure.

Shortening the tail pipe will decrease back pressure, increase noise, and actually reduce the power output. So be very carefull before modifying a 2 stroke exhaust system.

Edit: Spelling corrected.

soundbeltfarm
31st March 2005, 21:02