PDA

View Full Version : Need help!

jdo59
12th August 2009, 14:41
I want to buy a sport bike, and have a few questions.

1. Do I need to have my own bike before I go for the basic skill test?

2. I am based in CHCH. Please recommend reputable motorbike dealers.

3. Do you recommend buying a bike off Trademe from other cities?

Thank you in advance!

HenryDorsetCase
12th August 2009, 15:09

Thank you in advance!

welcome.

1. Dunno. its been many years for me.

2. the Manchester Street ones are good in my experience.

3. Not for a complete noob. Even then its risky.

If you ask nicely, some of the nice people on here might go look at secondhand bikes with you.

If you can swing it, I would be buying one of those Honda CBF250's: Honda have a hell finance deal going on at present, and if you go in there swinging a bucket of cash, you will get a deal. 250's should hold their value, and its a Honda = reliable. Talk to Rob. Top bloke.

If you know more experienced people, take them with you.

Dont forget you need not only a bike but also good gear: Helmet that fits, gloves, boots, Jacket with back protector, pants,

Supermac Jr
12th August 2009, 15:15
I didn't need my own bike for BHS.

was in Auckl though...

jdo59
12th August 2009, 16:12
welcome.

1. Dunno. its been many years for me.

2. the Manchester Street ones are good in my experience.

3. Not for a complete noob. Even then its risky.

If you ask nicely, some of the nice people on here might go look at secondhand bikes with you.

If you can swing it, I would be buying one of those Honda CBF250's: Honda have a hell finance deal going on at present, and if you go in there swinging a bucket of cash, you will get a deal. 250's should hold their value, and its a Honda = reliable. Talk to Rob. Top bloke.

If you know more experienced people, take them with you.

Dont forget you need not only a bike but also good gear: Helmet that fits, gloves, boots, Jacket with back protector, pants,