PDA

View Full Version : "L" plate in Te Atatu- learners yarns

surfchick
6th April 2005, 18:52
hello- just telling me learners story. Girl gets bike & all that.
i just started riding- i did the classic thing of falling for a bike i liked & bought it before i had a liscence... anyway I'm street legal now.

NB. first thing i did wrong was buy an open face helmet that was on special (going for a more classic look)- a shoei- nice brand, but with no visor i get nailed by bugs and every spec of dust on the motorway. full face helmet is now on order.

so the first few times i take my baby for a spin i go round the block from home, hoping every turn was a left turn and that i'd never have to stop at roundabaouts in case i stalled..

finally i get the hang of stopping, sort of, and i go for my first night ride. I'm cruising around te atatu north at 9.30 at night hoping it's gonna be quiet, which it mostly is. doing my dodgy almost take-offs, my sort of OK geared slow-to-a-stops and finally i end up at the roundabout in the main street. i spy a car coming from the right, which isn't indicating, but eventually exits before it gets to our que. but the car full of hoons behind me has started to go banana's yelling get off the road you f*ck and the like, (just 'cause i didn't go like a bull at a gate around the round-about)and I'm going- just calmly drive off... hoping to god i don't stall. they taunted me and my "L" plate round a few more roads. still finguring out if I can exact any revenge on my te atatu neaigbours...

That seems the worst bit of the learners process so far- that and parking with the front wheel faced in to a steeply sloping cerb so a can't actually get the bike reversed out of the park. all this in full view of a BBQ party on a deck in ponsonby.

I think it's quite hard core going back to being a learner on the roads after so many years driving a car- and forgetting how much there is to concentrate on when you are actually learning to master the machinery.