PDA

View Full Version : Deciding between a CBR600 and an SV650

sturm
31st August 2009, 07:29
Hopefully this is the right place to post this. I am trying to decide between a CBR600 and an SV650. Ive been riding for ~5 years, the last bike I had was a 2000 zx6r which felt too race focused for my riding. (I lowsided it around a roundabout, and haven't ridden for a couple of years).

Im now pretty keen to jump back on, and I've narrowed it down to either an older CBR (the F3/F4 should be a bit more comfy than the ZX), or a newer SV650. Theres tons of great reviews of the SV, but im worried about the lack of windscreen, and the 30hp less power than a 4cyl 600.

Ive seen a CBR600F3 on trademe. It has a full akropovic exhaust (incl headers) and a k&n filter. What effect would that have on performance (would it kill the mid-range torque?)

Has anyone ridden either of these bikes?
cheers!

popa griffin
31st August 2009, 07:35
It doesnt matter how much horsepowers you have. You can only go as fast as the speed limit anyways.

Id pick the CBR over the SV simply for the looks.

But thats me personally.

javawocky
31st August 2009, 07:46
Mmmm, what is the really problem here? If you low-sided is it because the turning circle on the ZX6r was too big? Did you hand slip and unleash the fully power of the mighty quacker? Did you hit some oil or was it raining?

'Cause although both the SV650 and CBR are no match for a ZX6r I don't think they are that much different for general every day situations.

You need to identify what the problem was and fix it with the right bike. If a more commuter friendly bike is what you need, then take a look at something like this perhaps... http://www.suzuki.co.nz/Motorcycle/Street/GSX650F/

An alternative might be to get the SV and put high clip ons to give you better control at low speeds.

Your thoughts?

CookMySock
31st August 2009, 07:52