PDA

View Full Version : Car headlights?

JMemonic
3rd September 2009, 23:26
Is this particular to Christchurch or is it NZ wide?

On my brief ride home from work, about 9kms I counted no fewer than 12 miss adjusted head lights, one beam set right, the other, normally the passenger side being so out of correct alignment it would appear as if on high beam and shining nearly directly across the road, so is this just local to here? Or is there something deficient in testing sites?

An even more interesting question for the law enforcement officers, do you folks ever issue tickets for this now days? Or issue warnings?

Motu
3rd September 2009, 23:55
I've been checking headlights with a beamsetter for 20 years now, (since beamsetters replaced lightboards) and some days it seems every car I check has lights set wrong....other times I can go a couple of weeks without finding one out.Biggest reason for lights being way wrong is incorrectly fitted bulbs - the owner thinks he can do it himself,but doesn't fit the springclip correctly,so the bulb sits wrong.

In short - it's Christchurch.

MSTRS
4th September 2009, 09:36
Yep, very common. The one that really gets my goat is SUVs. Their lights are set just the same as cars...yet because they are so much higher to start with, their dip is as dazzling in the mirrors as as a car on highbeam. :bash:
Why can't there be a way of setting so that the physical distance their lights reach is the same as cars?

Beemer
4th September 2009, 09:46
I used to make a bet with myself that I'd see a certain number of one-headlight-out vehicles on the trip home from work each night when I lived in Lower Hutt. On the trip from Porirua over Haywards Hill I would invariably see between eight and 15!