PDA

View Full Version : Crossing the centre line?

earl
4th October 2009, 22:43
With regard to the tightening of the 'Keep Left" rules,What does crossing the centerline mean on a bike? Is it where the tires are or where your head is if leaned over.. Common sense dictates the safety answer but in court after they have ticketed you in a camera case?????

Yeah_Right
5th October 2009, 00:05
I would say where your tires are but hey, i am no lawyer!

retro asian
5th October 2009, 00:07
Isn't that the argument for legal lane-splitting? As long as your tires aren't over the centre line?

YellowDog
5th October 2009, 04:56
The rule has to state, "any part of the vehicle".

You, your pillion, and your riding gear constitute part of the vehicle.

Yeah_Right
5th October 2009, 05:14
So, i am riding half a meter from the center lane and my passenger points across to the other side of the road.

Their hand puts my vehicle into the oncoming lane and I can lawfully be said to have crossed the center line?

Puts a whole new meaning to "Keep your hands inside the ride at all times."

Jantar
5th October 2009, 07:33
The rule has to state, "any part of the vehicle".

You, your pillion, and your riding gear constitute part of the vehicle.

That is the rule. But it would be a hard one to prove other than tyres, even with photgraphic evidence as parallax etc can make it appear worse than actual, or even show a bike as being safe when most of the bike is way over.

Patrick
5th October 2009, 13:53
Post up the photo. Then we can discuss.......

Zuki lover
5th October 2009, 14:16
crossing the centerline what centerline:innocent::innocent:

earl
5th October 2009, 23:40
no photo-this was just hypothetical,a friend got pinged with a camera recently-he was well over on this occasion...

MSTRS
6th October 2009, 08:06
There's almost never an acceptable excuse/reason for crossing the centreline whilst cornering. It's simply lazy riding. I have no sympathy for anyone caught doing it.