PDA

View Full Version : 2004 GN 250

ShadeeLady
15th April 2005, 20:04
Hi all, I am new to this so please bear with me.I am trying to find out if any other 2004 GN5250 owners have a problem with their bikes going excessively rusty and corroding.My bike started to rust etc.within 1 1/2 months.Holeshot Motorcycles are saying it is my fault.The first time was because I parked it outside,under a bike cover.When I asked why they sold me the cover if they knew they supposedly made a bike rust,the next story was because I didn't clean it.Come on,it is an outside vehicle..I am in the process of taking Holeshot to the Small Claims Court..If anyone else has a problem too I would like to hear from you before 27th April which is the Court date.Thanx for putting up with my woes..ShadeeLady.

Jeremy
15th April 2005, 20:19
How dirty did you let it go? The Suzuki warrenty for the chrome is only 3 months, I had some of it flake off the front lamp of mine (due to another issue which hopefully the fine folks at Colemans fixed). The manual says something to the effect of, if you don't clean the chrome it will tarnish. However I wouldn't expect any rust.

avgas
15th April 2005, 20:25
Its actually a cheap bike thing - they just dont you the same materials anymore i think. Had the same with a few of my bikes, and most of my mates bikes.
Chuck on some rust converter and paint is the best bet for the temporary solution. I wish they picked up theyre act on this though.

jazbug5
15th April 2005, 20:31
Where on the bike is the rust?
Some photos would help... this does sound nuts, though!

Storm
15th April 2005, 20:53
Mines been ok. The new bike shine has faded somewhat, but thats about it

woody68
15th April 2005, 20:57
Hi good to have you aboard.
You should keep your chrome clean or else it will get little rust spots on it and if left they will rust the metal under the chrome.