PDA

View Full Version : It's a black one

Kendog
23rd December 2009, 21:52
It was interesting to read the description of my previous bucket plan.

Those that know me know I am not a mechanical type, preferring to get things serviced or repaired by others. I am also lazy so the thought of building a decent bucket did not really appeal to me.

So the plan was to let someone else do the hard work and buy a ready done bucket. I had my eye on a couple on Trade Me, but they had older engines that may need work to keep them going. So a new plan was formulated to get a Loncin engine and 'simply' put it into a frame and get riding.
That was sooooo not the right plan for a 'ready done bucket' Even after countless hours I still had so much more I wanted to do to get the bike right.
On the positive side, I have learnt so much over the past year. But I was over it :argh:

I was thinking about what to do next, keep working on the Loncin or get something else. I had been contemplating picking up a FXR, stripping it down and turning it into a bucket.

Then I saw a black FXR on TM. All the bucket building work was done, just put numbers on and go racing. Perfect. A little bit of research and it turned out Bren chch was selling it. Ironically he had sold me the RG frame I used on the Loncin bucket a year ago. There is a great thread (http://www.fxr150.co.nz/discussion/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=101)on FXR150.co.nz showing the building of it and Brendan sent me some more info via email. After one night sleeping on it I hit 'buynow' and it was mine. Three days later it was in my garage :2thumbsup

So, this is how I wanted my bucket to be last time round. Took it for a ride down a quiet road, felt really good.
First time on the track was the 2 hour endurance event. I felt a lot quicker than the last bike straight away, but had carb issues (it fell off three times :oi-grr:)