PDA

View Full Version : Emergency stop practice - gear change problem

robertvi
6th March 2010, 23:27
Being a noob I've been practising emergency stops on some back roads near my house. This type of stop obviously dispenses with engine breaking and down shifting, so when I come to a stop I'm in 4th gear with the clutch in. Now when I try to shift down into first to pull away again, the gear selector lights just go blank, and the leaver feels like it's not shifting properly, like it's stuck in limbo somewhere around gear 3-and-a-half.

Sometimes, after struggling with the shifter for a while, it suddenly seems to find the gears again. Other times I've stopped the engine and restarted, or pulled away in 2nd because it won't go all the way down to first. It's a 2006 Suzuki GN250. Any words of wisdom?

(PS I already tried pulling away in 4th :D guess I wasn't pushing it fast enough).

robertvi
6th March 2010, 23:42
sudden "brain wave": do I need to wheel the bike backwards to fix this?

TimeOut
7th March 2010, 05:31
sudden "brain wave": do I need to wheel the bike backwards to fix this?

Yep, moving back and forward will help. Bike gearboxes are sequential not like cars
Try to change down while still moving, if it's real bad try shutting the bike off and rock it with the clutch engaged.

Don't apply too much force to the gear leaver as that can do damage.

CookMySock
7th March 2010, 07:06
90% of your sudden braking is completed 50% into the manoevre, so you get time to sort the gears out. The small percentage of the time (microscopic) where you are forced to a stop in a high gear is an inconvenience you will just have to reconcile. ;)

Steve

scracha
7th March 2010, 07:26
Being a noob I've been practising emergency stops on some back roads near my house. This type of stop obviously dispenses with engine breaking and down shifting