PDA

View Full Version : Gear shifting for noobs?

Matariki
18th March 2010, 15:43
Hey guys,

I didn't really know where else to post this so mods if you want to move this thread please do so.

I am very new to riding motorcycles and I am keen to get my learners licence. I have been practicing everyday. :yes:

However I get a little stuck when I comes to shifting gears. Its not going up the gears thats the problem, its going down them. My bike tends to slow down and becomes heavy it also makes a strange grinding noise (can't be good for the gear box) before shooting off again like a rocket.

So what its the correct way to shift down the gears without looking like a noob? :sweatdrop

The other question I have is, what do you do if you are driving up a hill and you accidently shift your bike into neutral and you start going down hill, backwards? This happended to me the other day, and It was quite a scary experience. I braked, however I couldn't go into first gear because the bike kept moving backwards. :shit:
So I turned the bike around and went down the hill, turned around and went back up.
However what would be the best thing to do If this happened on a public road?

avgas
18th March 2010, 16:16
Practise
Empty car park
Learn to use all gears over and over again.

Will be the easiest advice you will get here about how to get over your problem. Big supermarket carparks (make sure empty so no car drives into you) are the best - as yes you can get a GN into top gear less than 50kph......I wouldn't go lower than 20kph in top gear though. But it is possible.

Jonno.
18th March 2010, 16:23
It sounds like you're not releasing the throttle while down shifting, it goes like this: throttle down, clutch in, down a gear, clutch out, throttle out. Also search "blipping" on here, might help you.

sleemanj
18th March 2010, 16:36
Use the clutch as a variable thing, not "on and off", sounds like you might just be "dropping" the clutch when you change.