PDA

View Full Version : o-ring chain cleaning

she_said
17th May 2005, 21:17
hey hey people
What do you use to clean your chains and how often do you do it? Will using petrol, meths or kerosine to clean it destroy the 'o'-rings? :cool:

-james

Marknz
17th May 2005, 21:19
hey hey people
What do you use to clean your chains and how often do you do it? Will using petrol, meths or kerosine to clean it destroy the 'o'-rings? :cool:

-james

Jimbo tells me kerosine is best for O ring chains, but others might have better ideas

Skunk
17th May 2005, 21:23
hey hey people

-jamesI use kerosine... but I'm no expert. :whistle:

How often? when it looks like it needs to be cleaned rather than more oil added is the best I can say.

oldfart
17th May 2005, 21:27
Kerosine's fine - definitely not petrol

she_said
17th May 2005, 21:36
Kerosine it is then :niceone:

Racey Rider
17th May 2005, 21:51
I like to give my chains a wash in diesel. It cleans and gives some lubricate at the same time.

SpankMe
17th May 2005, 21:54
Engine Decreaser and high pressure hose at the cage wash.

Don't know if this is the correct way to do it, but it's what I do :confused:

Rumble
18th May 2005, 17:55
Use kerosene!!

Petrol and meths and some kinds of degreasers can destroy the (rubber) o rings.

Ive never even thought of using diesel... but Kerosene is the safest bet anyway!

zadok
18th May 2005, 18:42
Get a shaftie! :D

Marty :ride:

fliplid
18th May 2005, 18:53
Never had any problems with kerosene... tend to scrub my chain on the bike with a cat litter tray under the chain to catch the crud. Cat litter absorbs oil very well! (preferably unused- it don't stink!!!) Clean your tyre afterwards though...avoids unpleasentness later.

I thought the idea of deisel was a bit risky...I have a deep desire to keep my bike well away from deisel.

Grumpy
18th May 2005, 19:07
Get a shaftie! :D

Marty :ride:

Sorry, I find it a little difficult to get that excited over cleaning a chain.... :msn-wink:

Twig