PDA

View Full Version : Getting my bike serviced

rustyrobot
13th April 2010, 13:21
I brought my bike a couple of months ago from a person who wasn't a rider. It is a pretty old bike, and looks like it's been pretty well used in its lifetime (42,500kms). The seller told me that the bike had been serviced last year at Red Baron, but didn't have any documentation for the service and wasn't really sure about what had been done (not being a rider).

I figure that I should really get the bike serviced ASAP as I don't accurately know what was done or when, but I'm a total noob myself and so I don't know what to ask for, or what to expect. I'm not particularly mechanically skilled, but I have topped up the fluids and lubed the chain. I'm looking forward to getting to know my bike better, and hopefully doing more of the servicing myself in the future, but want to make sure it gets done right first.

My questions then are:
- What should I ask for when getting the service done?
- What should I expect from a 'regular' service?
- How much should I expect to pay? (Yes, I know it'll vary - a ball park figure will be fine)
- If you were going to get a 1988 VT250 serviced in Hamilton, where would you go?

I've done a bit of a trawl through the forums but didn't find anything talking directly to this, feel free to point me in the right direction if I'm wrong.

jim.cox
13th April 2010, 13:37
Try to find a copy of the owners handbook

That will tell you exactly what needs done when

From there you can work out what you can do yourself

The Stranger
13th April 2010, 13:38
I brought my bike a couple of months ago from a person who wasn't a rider. It is a pretty old bike, and looks like it's been pretty well used in its lifetime (42,500kms). The seller told me that the bike had been serviced last year at Red Baron, but didn't have any documentation for the service and wasn't really sure about what had been done (not being a rider).