PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here on the forum (ants67)

ants67
8th May 2010, 22:07
hi everyone

well where to start , i wish i had a bit more time to get out and ride but time and health havent allowed to much of that lately, when i do get out i have a 1985 yamaha fz400r that i ride but i always feel a bit guilty as it has only done 14000 kms and it has never been wet when i have ridden it or the previous owner that i know of either . i have had it now for seven or eight years now , my biggest problem that i ever have with the bike is i am forever having to buy new battries for it , previous i used to have a suzuiki gt250 two stroke and an yamaha rd350lc which i wish was still in the garage. i like to think i am lucky to live in the wellington reigion as we have the rimutaka hill and wairirapa roads to ride , never get tired of that lol . keep the black round things the right way up
regards ants::bye::

CookMySock
8th May 2010, 22:14
I'll wet it for you! :niceone:

Nice bike! Welcome to KB.

Steve

tate35
9th May 2010, 10:13
Hi Ants, welcome to KB. Hope you get your health back and more time to ride your bike :)

one fast tl1ooo
9th May 2010, 10:17
welcome to kb

p.dath
9th May 2010, 10:24
Welcome to KB. Why don't you buy a trickle charger/battery conditioner to keep the battery in good shape when you are ready to do for a ride?

Also don't forget that petrol goes "off" (looses it's octane rating). If your fuel is getting to be more than 3 to 6 months old in the bike between rides you really should drain it out and replace it with fresh fuel.

ants67
9th May 2010, 10:49
thanks for the welcome everyone, good advice bout the fuel when i bought the bike the fuel was so old that i had to fill the tank with screws and stones and sit there hours shaking it to get all the rust and crud out it i have learnt my lesson there lol ,and yes i should go and buy charger to keep battery topped up

FatHead
9th May 2010, 10:54