PDA

View Full Version : GN250 choke lever. How do I use it?

mcsilvio
9th May 2010, 10:01
Hi guys,
I'm a newbie with a chinese gn250 (great). the bike is an 07 but looks like a poorly maintained 1954. but it runs well enough and i got it cheap enough and its a great starter bike. so much fun.

but about the choke lever. i see it on the left side. but i dont know what it does or when to use it. i know one position is on, one is off, and one is reserve. maybe this isnt the choke. but thats what the guy at the riding school taught us (he taught us fine and was a great instructor, its just me forgetting).

do you know what this lever does and which position is which? i know up is labelled R but i cant see the other two. even if i knew i wouldnt know how to properly use it.

cheers,
marco.

FJRider
9th May 2010, 10:20
I think you are looking at the fuel tap ...

mcsilvio
9th May 2010, 10:29
right! is this important? where is the choke? is it the choke screw?

scumdog
9th May 2010, 10:49
right! is this important? where is the choke? is it the choke screw?

Bloody oath it's important.

Turn it to off and you won't get far.

Forget to turn it onto reserve after you run out of gas and again you won't get far.

The choke? Never had a GN so can't help.

hayd3n
9th May 2010, 11:02
the choke is on the carburetor its a push pull jobby on the left hand side, push in (off) pull out on)

davereid
9th May 2010, 11:41
Yep, sounds like you are looking at the fuel tap. It will have 3 positions - ON/OFF/RESERVE. From memory, you will find with the lever pointed at the ground the fuel is ON. Pointed sideways it is OFF and pointed UP it is on Reserve, which gives you another 50km or so to find a gas station.

Of course, if you put it on reserve, remember to put it back to ON after you fill up with gas. Otherwise next time you run out of gas, you have already used your reserve, and will have to walk.