PDA

View Full Version : Complete Newbie

Silverbug
25th May 2005, 17:23
So im thinking about getting my bike license. However the only time i have been on a bike was on a dirt bike out on muriwai beach for all of about 1 min of riding.

What do people suggest for the complete newbie? Does that pre-learner license course cover everything right from scratch or are you expected to know how to ride a bike before you go?

There was some interesting reading in Zapf's which 1st bike thread...

White trash
25th May 2005, 17:28
Welcome Silverbug.

DRZ400SM.

Sensei
25th May 2005, 17:31
Welcome Silverbug got afew of them on my K3 at the moment :killingme

Mr Skid
25th May 2005, 17:34
If you're refering to the basic handling skills certificate, I don't know of anyone that has failed it. I'd suggest getting some tuition in combination with the basic handling skills certificate.
I did only the certificate at Passrite to save money, but I belive it's a false economy.

Did you enjoy riding at Murawai? If so I'd think a dual sport / trail bike would be a good option for learning on. They are designed to be crash and dropped, and are road registerable.

WINJA
25th May 2005, 17:39
So im thinking about getting my bike license. However the only time i have been on a bike was on a dirt bike out on muriwai beach for all of about 1 min of riding.

What do people suggest for the complete newbie? Does that pre-learner license course cover everything right from scratch or are you expected to know how to ride a bike before you go?

A GN250 IS A GREAT LEARNER BIKE, THEY ARE EASY TO GET OFF THE MARK AND HAVE ENOUGH POWER TO GET YOU OUT OF TROUBLE , THEY CRASH WELL AND ARE CHEAP TO REPAIR AND ARE ONLY $3000 NEW AND CAN BE FINANCED , THEY HAVE A GOOD RESALE VALUE AS WELL.
YAMAHA SR250 IS SIMILAR TO ABOVE.
OR YOU CAN GET A 250 TRAIL BIKE LIKE AN XR

Phurrball
25th May 2005, 17:48
Welcome Silverbug!