PDA

View Full Version : What to Get ...

DirtMad
29th May 2005, 19:55
Firstly Id like to say a big hello to everyone on first post !
Im new to dirt bike riding and have had little experience on mototrbikes in general. I own a modified GTR skyline (the shape they raced at bathurst back in the days) and Im looking for a little side hobby ;-)
Ive been looking at some bikes on trademe and bikepoint but Id really appreciate some advice on where to start. I think it will be used at such places as woodhill forest, and beach / farm land.. I weigh approx 70kg and and obviously small to average height and build.
Ive been looking at such bikes as a "KDX 200" and "XR 200" but Im wondering if these are too much for me to handle? hehe. Would I be better off with a 125cc or even 80cc bike??
All helpful advice much appreciated!
Kev.

Odin
29th May 2005, 20:03
Welcome in :niceone:

Have you got expirience with road bikes or are you new to bikes all together ?

DirtMad
29th May 2005, 20:34
Ive just had little 50cc bikes in the past ( a 2 and a 4 stroke). No road bike license or experience :whistle:

Motu
29th May 2005, 20:40
Welcome to the site.

Of course the KDX is the better bike - for racing,the XR200 is a great beginners bike...I had one when I was 40 and it made me feel 16 again.A bike you can learn on and then work up to riding it at 110% and hang onto the tail of a KDX if he's not a very good rider.Of all the bikes I've ever owned I think the XR200 was the most fun,the labrador of the motorcycle world...eager to please and never bites the hand of those who feed him.Go for the XR.

DirtMad
29th May 2005, 20:49
thanks for the help ;-) sorry about my Noob knowledge.. I presume youre thinking a 200cc bike wont be too much if i take it a bit easy first :nono: hehe

Kwaka-Kid
29th May 2005, 22:02
have PM'ed you dude.