PDA

View Full Version : What should I buy for $2,000?

SMOKEU
4th August 2010, 13:30
I have around $2,000 to spend on a dirt bike, and I'm unsure about what I should buy. I was thinking about buying a DR250 or XR250 as they seem to be quite reliable and low maintenance.

A mate of mine who has a KDX220 said I should buy a KDX as he has had his one for a few years, and he runs it on cheap mineral oil and he's never done any proper maintenance on it and it still runs mint.

Are the 2 smokers really as bad as 'they' say in terms of reliability and needing frequent rebuilds? I have very little mechanical knowledge so I won't be able to do even a basic top end rebuild myself, and I don't have the money to spend on rebuilds.

I'm quite tall so I should be able to fit on any sized dirt bike.

onearmedbandit
4th August 2010, 13:46
Next we'll be answering questions about what you should have for breakfast lol.

A 2 stroke 250 (RM/CR/YZ/KX) will whip a DR250 or XR250, both in power and handling but you'll pay for that in pistons and rings, which on a 2 stroke are incredibly easy to replace. A DR or XR will not have the poke but will probably be a better bike to live with if you're not racing, but make sure you buy a good one. A 2 stroke may need rebuilding more often, but they are a sight lot cheaper than rebuilding a tired 4 stroke.

Blagger
4th August 2010, 17:17
Get a mechanically minded mate to look over a mainstream twostroke 250 for you and pay them in lots of beer. KDX or CR or KTM etc, the main thing is the individual bike and how it's been looked after

Kickaha
4th August 2010, 17:37
KDX200, best all round trail bike for the money, you can get a early to mid nineties one and still have change for any repairs

Rupe
4th August 2010, 17:53
I have around $2,000 to spend on a dirt bike, and I'm unsure about what I should buy. I was thinking about buying a DR250 or XR250 as they seem to be quite reliable and low maintenance.