PDA

View Full Version : wet paint..

bugjuice
1st June 2005, 11:38
Got the monthly email from Megarider, and this is in it.. Thought it was an interesting read, and might be grounds for a petition to the government about the ongoing problem of road markings in the wet..

<blockquote>I came across your website while doing some research on a problem I have
been trying to highlight for a year now, with mixed success. Personally I
have sorted out my issue, but I think there is a national problem that
affects all road-users on two wheels.

I have been riding bikes for 15 years, and never had problems with
roadmarking paint until I arrived in NZ. Every biker you talk to has a near
miss story, usually when applying the brakes in the wet. I had several
heart stoppers near my previous home in West Auckland, until last November,
on my new bike.

I approached a stop sign, it was sunny but the road had a light coating of
rain from earlier, and as I applied the front brake gently at under 10kph
the front wheel skidded on the white lettering spelling (ironically) STOP.

As you can imagine, I was furious, the damage was slight but I knew I had
done nothing wrong and was not about to lose my no claims bonus or pay for
it, so I took it up with the council.

After trying to fob me off they came and inspected the site, then passed
the buck to Transit. Transit tried to fob me off too, but they sent out a
technician to assess the paint. I argued that if a rider could not safely
apply brakes on the surface in any conditions then the system was
inadequate and Transit was failing in their duty to the public. They spent
some weeks reviewing it, then declined my claim, telling me to "adjust my
riding style in the wet"!

I went ballistic, and insisted on seeing the report. Contrary to my
expectations the surveyor had agreed with me, stating there was no evidence
of anything but careful driving. At this point I requested the