PDA

View Full Version : Dririder Nordic 3 Jacket

Big Dave
3rd June 2005, 03:35
‘I can justify every one of them – sure I can’ - I said to the Co-pilot as she gave me ‘that look’ (The one with the icicles hanging off it) and struggled to get her leathers back into the wardrobe.

Gallantly ducking the icy blow, I went over and squashed a few garments together to make her lot easier and came to an embarrassing realisation.
I’ve become the Emelda Marcos of motorcycle jackets…well maybe not quite that bad, but I have an embarrassment of riches in goretex and leather.

I’ve won some, earned some, been given some to test for Kiwi Rider and received others as treasured gifts. Some I even purchased. Between us we almost have what a retailer would describe as ‘stock’. It's put me in a good position to objectively evaluate the different options.

I went to the NZ launch of the Dririder range at the shindig put on by importers White’s Powersports last year.
‘Aussie riders don’t say I’ll get my wet weathers - they say I’ll get my Dririders – because Dririder has become a metaphor for wet weather gear in Australia’ the manufacturers sales manager proudly informed me when he got wind that I knock out their advertising locally.
‘Not…necessarily…an angle that will work in NZ’ I suggested as I tried not to wince at the thought of the local market reaction to a full-page colour display delivered with the graphic equivalent of an Aussie twang.
I soberly informed him. ‘Forget the weather forecast’ is the tag we’re using locally and bugger me – that very line turns up atop the Aussie ads 2 months later - with their subsequent thanks.

But now a lovely new Nordic 3 jacket and matching gloves in ‘anthracite and black’ has found it’s way into the melee that is my gear locker - just in time for the big wet in Auckland.