PDA

View Full Version : Dob him in?

steelphoenix
21st February 2011, 11:51
Hi all -

Just wanting to get a few opinions on a situation where I was really torn.

There's this... person... (I hesitate to say biker) who rides in Central Auckland. This person is on a blue R1, and has worn no gear other than his helmet in the three times I've seen him. I'm an ATGATT proponent, but that wasn't what made me cringe.

They ride like a fucking dumbshit. I don't say this lightly.

The first time I came across him, I was coming around the corner from Customs to Fort Street. He passed me at warp speed, giving me a hell of a fright (and I'm a pretty observant driver/rider). He then proceeded to cut the Fort Street corner - in the centre of the other side of the road - and weave side to side (warming the tyres-type movement) all the way up Fort Street until he turned onto Queen.

The second time, he was warming his tyres again - up the centre of Queen Street. He then proceeded to filter through moving traffic at about 60kph (in the Queen Street 30kph zone), and use the other side of the road before turning onto Wellesley Street.

The third time I was slowing down and stopping at the Queen Street/Victoria Street intersection, when he pulled a stoppie (back wheel at least a foot off the ground) behind the car one lane over. I swear to God, he was less than a metre behind the car - the other driver must have gotten a shock. He then filtered to the front, almost hitting my mirror and actually hitting another car's mirror.

Every time I've seen this person, I've thought, "You dumbass, you're going to get yourself killed," my passengers have remarked on his idiocy/giving bikers a bad name, and I've been tempted to call *555 and let Mr. Plod sort him out. The only thing that restrained me was the fact that - for all his faults - he is a fellow biker, and it seems a bit mean-spirited to dob him in.

Thoughts?

Bald Eagle
21st February 2011, 11:54