PDA

View Full Version : F`ed Xr250 whats Wrong And how can i fix it

crazyxr250rider
26th June 2005, 17:25
I was ridi up gravel road and was leting the clutch out and the kick start flew down
i was in 3rd gear now in 1,3,5 gear when i let out the clutch out the kick start flies down and because of the auto decop it stops running :mad: :mad: :weird:

merv
26th June 2005, 18:27
Never seen that happen before so I'm no expert on the problem. However, does it feel like the return spring is still OK, i.e. when you kick start does the lever pop back up OK?

If it doesn't right itself you are going to need to pull the right side case off the motor and have a good look at the kick start mechanism and try and figure what has gone wrong with it.

crazyxr250rider
26th June 2005, 20:01
Never seen that happen before so I'm no expert on the problem. However, does it feel like the return spring is still OK, i.e. when you kick start does the lever pop back up OK?

If it doesn't right itself you are going to need to pull the right side case off the motor and have a good look at the kick start mechanism and try and figure what has gone wrong with it.
kick start returns fine not spring every thing works fine in 2,4,6 gear

Paul in NZ
26th June 2005, 20:32
I've got NO idea how a Honda gearbox works (and not keen on finding out) but as a guess.....

Depressing the kickstart will turn summat in the box to turn the gearbox input and thus the engine. Doubtless there is a dog clutch, or something to do this attached to something in there that only goes 1 way. Soundslike something broke and now it turns with the gears on that shaft?

Get yourself a parts book or an exploded diagram and should not be too hard to nut out? Probably a 50c part and a $1000 labour bill deally!

Cheers

Paul N

or ask on a XR forum - must be one!

crazyxr250rider
26th June 2005, 20:43
I've got NO idea how a Honda gearbox works (and not keen on finding out) but as a guess.....